top of page

week 2 extra credit blog

classmate's blogs








In Jiasheng's blog, he talked about how his weakness in writing is that he has a difficult time connecting his quotes to the main point and how he isn't familiar with how to use rhetorical devices in his writing. His strength is in how he formats his essay to make them seem logical and connected, which he learned from his Academic English 20C class.


I commented on his strength and how it was my weakness because I struggle with focusing, which causes the structure of my essay to be jumpy.


In Weikang's blog, he talked about how he enjoys English when it is low pressure and enjoys writing when he is interested in the topic. He looks forward to improving his grammar through the course, more specifically writing tense, and is proud of his score because it shows his growth compared to his grammar skills in the past.


I commented on his statement of how he enjoys writing when the topic is interesting because I can relate to this, since I enjoy writing when I have something to say and there is no pressure.



Ray talked about the many different classes of writing that he took during his time in college and how these classes made him a better writer. He is very confident in his abilities to write and did very good on his Diagnostic test.


I congratulated him on his score because grammar is my weakness and I also commented on the writing classes he took, since he could use those lessons to succeed in this writing course.




His blog was about how he wasn't a native English speaker and how his previous writing class made him read novels and poems that made his writing better. He also talked about the difficulties of writing, which are mainly rooted in the act that English s not his first language.


I commented on how interesting it was that he found his English improving by reading novels and poems and added that it was probably because reading these require a deeper meaning of the text.




In Warren's blog, he talked about how he hopes to improve his grammar because he knows that he isn't the best at it. His strength in writing is the citations and his weakness is paraphrasing.


I commented on how his weakness I paraphrasing because I am bad at this as well.




Shenglin's weakness in writing is that it is difficult to write when the topic is dull, while their strength is grammar, which is apparent as they did well on the Diagnostic quiz. Their last English class was Academic English 20C, which taught them how to adjust to writing online.


I agreed that writing is difficult when the subject doesn't peak my interest.


Comments


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page