top of page

Extra Credit: Goodbyes


Farewell WR 39A...

Hi Leo! I really liked how your transformative learning experience inspired you to be a better person. This class really taught us a lot about the toxic side of society and it's great to see that you want to be a better man that doesn't have characteristics of toxic masculinity, like the ones you see on your Twitter page. Talking to you during the breakout room, I could see that you were very passionate about the topic of toxic masculinity, so it's great that this class brought out this interest. Although we only had one conversation, it was really nice to meet you and I wish you the best.


Hi Kai! I also wrote about how peer review was a transformative learning experience for me. I really liked what you said about how annotating the films allowed you see a new perspective on the film. I agree with this because, like you, before I would just watch the movie, but being forced to watch the film carefully, you see the hidden messages embedded within the film. Goodbye and best wish wishes.


Hi Wei! I thought what you said about the wix website was very interesting and true. This actually was my first website, actually first 2 because I also made the microsite, and these projects taught me a lot about presentation and effective images that make writing more engaging. The project forced us to be more creative when adding little pieces to the site, which also helped us become better at managing the site. It was really nice seeing your progress throughout the quarter. Best wishes.


Hi Ray! I totally understand your struggle with wix. Honestly, I had a lot of trouble with the site as well and I would spend more time than necessary trying to work on my site. I like how you see this as a weakness and are hoping to improve on it by using youtube as a guide. I also wrote about one of my weaknesses is self-review because I think seeing the flaws within your own writing is often more difficult than finding it in other people's writing. Your website looks great and best wishes at UCI.


Hi Christy! I totally agree with you that doing the annotations was a transformative experience because it allowed us to better connect with the text, which made us more engaged readers. I also noticed that it was difficult for you at times to join the conversation. I wished you spoke more because when you did the project was easier and more enjoyable. I wish you the best and I hope we keep in contact.


Hi Cuiyao! My biggest weakness is grammar as well. I totally agree with you that although the Connect assignments were very helpful, I wasn't able to get all I could out of it, since I often rushed through them. Because of other assignments, like you mentioned, I wasn't able to put in all my effort into them. I hope you the best in improving your grammar and hope that I can do the same one day.




Communication/Collaboration Skills

Working with people in an all-online environment taught me the importance of communication. Because we never got to see each other in person and we rarely met in class, communicating outside of class was a must. It taught me the importance of reach out to others for assistance and communicating with them to get the project finished. The course helped me a better communicator because it made me look at my work to see if it was useful and easy to understand. The course taught me to be a better online communicator because of the various online projects we had, like the microsite for the podcast, I learned what was necessary for the site and what was filler. Having made two websites for this class, the lessons I learned about the effectiveness of pictures and impact it can have on text, I utilized this to add meaningful images to my essay.

Comments


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page