top of page

THE END-final reflection

Welcome to the end! It's been a long 10 weeks, but we're finally here. Here I'll reflect on my 10 week journey and see how I've changed.

Transformative Learning

Truly learning results in change to one's way of thinking or acting. One of the transformative learning experiences I had was when we did the podcast. The podcast was a unique project that taught me a lot about collaboration. This project transformed my way of thinking as I collaborated with people having different interest and point of view than my own. By integrating my ideas with those of my group members, I learned to listen to them and see the course question through their perspectives. Openness is the ability to look at a topic through new perspectives and this project really helped me with that. Having a new perspective allowed me to have a deeper understanding of the question and even guided me to answer the question differently than I initially wanted. It also taught me the importance of transitions. Doing a podcast requires effective transitions to make it flow. Although transitions are important in essays, understanding the disruption in flow when there is a lack of transitions is difficult when reading and easier when it is speaking.


Another transformative experience was when we read other people's works to deepen our understanding of the topic and teach us to be better editors. Reviewing my group's essays, allowed me to get a new perspective on the course question because they would touch on topics that I wasn't initially interested, similar to how the podcast introduced me to new ideas that I incorporated into my essay. These assignments also taught me how to be a better editor as I read to through my peer's writing. Seeing their strengths and weaknesses allowed me to better see my own strength and weaknesses. It showed me the importance of peer review because your peers can help you fix your essay and reviewing their can give you a new perspective on your own work.



Problems & A Plan for the Future

Grammar is still one of my biggest weaknesses. Although the connect practice sessions helped me improve and learn a lot, I still don't feel confident in my abilities to identify grammar mistakes in my own writing. Doing the connect practice sessions, I often struggled on concentrating as the long sessions made my eyes strains and lose focus, preventing me from receiving the full benefit from the sessions. In the future, I should take breaks, which are difficult for me to do. I should also invest my time into grammar practice outside of school because it would help me learn more.


Another weakness I still have is self-revision. The self-review of the full draft of my essay was difficult to do. Although I understand that my essay has flaws, it is difficult to go through my own writing and find them because I understand what I'm trying to say, even though others may not. To work on this in the future, I should just force myself to look over my writing or have google read my writing to me, so I can find the flaws. Another method I can use is looking at individual pieces of my essay then connecting them together to see if they make sense independently and collectively or use my peers to help me review my essay.



5 Comments


Peihao Hu
Peihao Hu
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Vivian,

Connect practice session is a good way to improve our grammar skills. But I also feel unconfident about the word choosing and grammar match in my paper. Self revision helps me find the wrong words and structure for my paper. So I decide to practice it in the future. Hope you have a great experience in other courses.

Like

Vy Gia Luu
Vy Gia Luu
Mar 15, 2021

Hey Vivian,

Doing the podcast also taught me to be open-minded about other's points of view too. Through working in a group setting I was able to see how there are so many approaches that we can take with the course question for our essay. Reading other people's discussion posts also help me see many things that I didn't think about before. Wish you the best of luck with your future courses!

Like

Chengheng Lyu
Chengheng Lyu
Mar 14, 2021

Hi, Vivian. I have the same experience when I was revising my own essay. I was struggled when I was trying to find mistakes in my own paper. Also, I think peer review part can help us a lot. Wish you can do well in your future classes. Goodbye!

Like

Leo Zhu
Leo Zhu
Mar 14, 2021

Hi, Vivian. I had the same experience when revising my own essay. I also struggled at finding mistakes in my essay and I believe we have the same reasons as well. I think peer review really helped me a lot. After reading your feedback, I learned about some weaknesses in my essay and your advices about how to improve my essay are also super helpful!

Like

Wanyi Shi
Wanyi Shi
Mar 13, 2021

Hi, Vivian. Grammar is also one of my weaknesses. I realized this in the Language and Grammar Diagnostic Practice that we did in the beginning of the quarter. My plan is that I should do more practice like this in the future to practice my writing skills. I think this will improve grammatical skills. I hope you can do well in your future writing. Goodbye and have s safe break.

Like

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page